Summer Reading

A brother of mine has posted his summer reading list here. Submit a title or two.

Some of my own recommendations?
I just reread C.S. Lewis’ Surprised by Joy and The Abolition of Man. Good, and good. Try anything by Chesterton, especially Heretics and Orthodoxy. (Those are links to his work online, but it’s best if you buy them so you can highlight the best quotes–you may run out of yellow ink, however.) Reading Surprised by Joy, I was reminded of some fiction I read in college: George Macdonald’s Phantastes and Lilith. Both fantasy stories I loved, when I’ve never really thought I’d like books about fairies and other mythological creatures. The other author I picked up in college was Charles Williams. He was recommended to me in high school, but I couldn’t get into his writing then. Later I picked up Descent into Hell again, and I loved it. (Liked the fiction much better than his non-fiction theological work.) All Hallows’ Eve is another good one by Williams. There was at least one other one I read, but I can’t think of the title now.
It is no mistake that all of these were in some way connected to my love of Lewis. Mere Christianity never gets old.

What do I want to read? The Iliad is waiting…

Timotheos

5 thoughts on “Summer Reading

  1. If you’re reading CS Lewis, don’t move on before reading Perelandra and That Hideous Strength. They’re fiction for adults and they’re FANTASTIC. The first in the series is called Out of the Silent Planet, and it too is good, but you can read Perelandra (the 2nd title) without it. ANd if you’re going to pick one, pick Perelandra. A WONDERFUL study in the fall. Very cool.

  2. I recently bought a copy of the Illiad too, and I’ve been tinkering away at Paradise Lost. But the epic poetry is no walk in the park. Currently I’m most absorbed in the Scarlet Pimpernel. It’s considered a classic by some, and really, is quite fine writing. Very Dickens.

  3. I enjoyed Paradise Lost. I’ve read the science fiction trilogy, and pretty much everything else by Lewis! The one book I’ve read, but that I want on my shelf, is Til We Have Faces.

    Tim

  4. Othniel:
    What edition of Paradise Lost do you have? I have a copy of it that includes endnotes that help explain some of the background of the work. It cut down on my work in trying to understand it.

  5. I have a similar version, but, being an Eng. major, its not the issue of being “unable” to understand it. It’s the patience it takes to do so. I understand the premise quite well without even reading it. I can acknowledge Milton’s complete genius wihtout turning the first page. But to truly “experience” the genius and to grasp the fullness of the premise, I must do that hard work of reading his very very long sentences in poetic form!

    But thanks for the tip! Maybe I’ll post a bit of it on CT.

Leave a Reply

