Wow, You Got Me There

I got this message through Facebook, presumably after seeing a comment I made on the Susan G. Komen FB page:

Why be pro-life? I mean, do you know what hyperemesis gravidarum, pre-eclampsia, and ectopic pregnancies are? Do you know how physically hellish pregnancy can be for a woman? Do you know all of the different ways that pregnancy can cause mental and emotional distress to a woman? Do you know how emotionally scarring it can be to give a child up for adoption? Or do you just not care about any of that, which proves that your views on this issue are incredibly hateful?

Pregnancy is hell.  Obviously, that necessitates organizations such as Planned Parenthood.  Why not just kill the little buggers before they take nine months of your life and rip it to shreds with their demonic, parasitic little lives.  I mean, do you know what pregnancy is like for women?  Clearly, if I were a woman, I would take abortion over pregnancy in an instant, without a second thought.  We use drugs and surgery to get rid of pregnancy; hence, it’s a disease to be cured.

This is what I wrote in response:

Well, I have four children, so I have been with my wife through four pregnancies. Do you know about the depression, suicidal thoughts, hate, despair, mental, emotional, and physical problems that abortion causes? Or do you just not care about any of that?  [And] You might want to check this site.

I should add that the vast majority of abortions are done for reasons of elective convenience, not for danger to the woman’s health. Let’s talk about what generally happens, not some marginal extremes.

I suppose we could take a sort of macabre comfort in the fact that people such as this woman are unlikely to pass these lovely sentiments down to their daughters, since they wouldn’t want to go through such a hellish, emotionally and mentally distressful time such as pregnancy.  But that’s just me being hateful.

Timotheos

4 thoughts on “Wow, You Got Me There

  1. Wow! I think the writer of the post should perhaps consider consulting with some women who have actually carried their babies to term.

    “Physically hellish”? I don’t think so. Quite the opposite for me, in fact. My pregnancies were among the best times of my life. I would have gladly had many more if it had been in our Lord’s plans for me.

    Pregnancy terminated by abortion leaves the woman without the joy of new life as God intended and instead burdened for life by the guilt she carries.

    I shall keep in my prayers all women who have been deceived into allowing their babies to be aborted, and also the writer of the post, that he might come to understanding of the sanctity of life that we all must defend and protect.

    I wonder if he has spent any time contemplating his own mother’s decisions?

  2. I’m not sure I was clear. The first part in quotes was the message the woman sent me. The part immediately after was my blog-response (sarcasm doesn’t always come across on the internet!).

    Thanks for reading,
    Tim

Leave a Reply

