On Murdering Abortion Doctors

Dr. George Tiller, the infamous abortionist from Wichita, KS, was killed in the lobby of his church today.  I cannot believe that anyone who is against abortion still thinks it’s okay to use vigilante methods as a means to the end of fewer abortions.  Murder is murder is murder, whether of a baby in the womb or of one who murders them.  The person who did this should receive a sentence commensurate with his/her crime (which, incidentally, is what Tiller should have gotten).

Also, idiots who murder people for being murderers bring out the crazy Left:

“Dr. Tiller was a fearless, passionate defender of women’s reproductive health and rights,” said Nancy Northup, president of the Center for Reproductive Rights, based in New York, which had worked on a legal case related to Dr. Tiller. “It’s time that this nation stop demonizing these doctors, and start honoring them.”

The “nation” is not demonizing abortion doctors.  Only the lunatic fringe views a legal practice as being demonized.  And I believe Dr. Tiller was already honored with a reception in the Kansas governor’s mansion (the same governor whom Pres. Obama tapped for Director of Health and Human Services).

God says, “Vengeance is mine; I will repay”; hence, no vigilante justice.

On a side note, you get one guess as to which variety of Lutheran Tiller was.

Timotheos

18 thoughts on “On Murdering Abortion Doctors

  1. (which, incidentally, is what Tiller should have gotten)

    No.

    Tiller broke no laws. What he did was wrong, clearly. But murder is voluntary homicide with malice. If Dr. Tiller knew he was killing babies and did so anyway, then maybe it could be considered murder, but do you honestly believe that he thought he was killing human beings?

    I think that’s an extreme stretch.

    But, even if he was so evil as to know what he was doing and do it anyway, it wasn’t illegal. The Constitution’s proscription against an ex post facto law is wise.

    What you say in your parenthetical comment is quite simply disgusting. It is, in essence, “He shouldn’t have been murdered but I’m glad he’s dead.”

  2. Chaz, you misunderstand me. I simply meant that he should, as his killer should, face trial for murder. I am not “glad he’s dead.” The point was not about his life, but about his crimes.

    I don’t care what he thought he was doing; and anyway, you seem to be using “murder” in a technical, legal sense. If it is voluntary killing of a human being, to me that is murder (whatever degree). Obviously, his form of murder is legal, while his killer’s is not. That’s what we call a double standard.

    Tim

  3. You said that he should have gotten the death penalty, so you’re speaking in legal terms. In legal terms he was guilty of nothing. He broke no laws. Any talk of what he “deserved” in the context of the fact that he was murdered makes our outrage over his murder into a thinly veiled lie.

    If we’re speaking in terms of God’s law, we’re all just as guilty of murder as he was, and we have God’s blood on our hands.

  4. Rev. Lehmann,

    You say “If Dr. Tiller knew he was killing babies and did so anyway, then maybe it could be considered murder, but do you honestly believe that he thought he was killing human beings?”

    What do you think Dr. Tiller thought he was killing, if not human beings?

    Jim

  5. “If we’re speaking in terms of God’s law, we’re all just as guilty of murder as he was, and we have God’s blood on our hands.”

    Well, yes. And? I think you are so concerned with not minimizing the evil of Tiller’s murder, that you minimize the evil of his actions.

    Tim

  6. I don’t minimize the evil of his actions, but in the context of his murder, I don’t find his evil actions to be the least bit relevant.

    Here’s what I wrote elsewhere (in part):

    I don’t sit easy [about Tiller’s actions]. But Tiller has already received the Lord’s judgment. I pray that the judgment is eternal salvation. Why? Because he was no greater sinner than I am, and we have the same Savior. I don’t know if His faith was genuine. Shockingly, there are many Christians in the ELCA. We do not know if Dr. Tiller was living in willful unrepentant sin. We all daily commit daily sins that we do not realize are sins. If we realize they are sins and abide in them, they can become mortal. We don’t know what the case was for Dr. Tiller.

    No need to try his case. It has been tried. We do not know if he received the Lord’s forgiveness. It is best for us to hope that he did and pray for the proper punishment of the man who murdered him.

  7. I’ve got no problem with what you wrote. And I wholeheartedly condemn his murder. Period, as you say. And I agree with Robert George here.

    I think you may have confused my words for some other “but…”

    Tim

  8. I’d like to know exactly what you mean by, “On a side note, you get one guess as to which variety of Lutheran Tiller was.”

  9. What I mean is that it wouldn’t take more than one guess to know that Tiller was a member of an ELCA congregation.

    It was nothing short of blasphemy for that congregation to allow Tiller to receive the Body and Blood of the Lord while he was taking the lives of those for whom Christ died.

    Tim

  10. “I won’t get into an argument with you about the merits and problems of the ELCA, as it’s clear you’re a person whose heart and mind have been made up.

    And I will say this too: I am the child of an ELCA minister and the godchild of another one. Nearly all of the people who molded my faith were ELCA Lutherans. These are the people who prayed with and for me, taught me the joys of humble service, listened to my awful violin accompaniments to hymns, showed me Christ-like patience when I was a spoiled brat teenager, and, above all, walked with me, challenged me, loved me without condition.

    And say what you will about the ELCA, but not a single one of them would have the poor taste to make a snide remark about a stranger’s faith on the very day he died. EVER.

  11. Lauren, I’m glad that you learned those things in the ELCA. And I have no doubt that there are good, faithful ELCA pastors. I know some of them.
    You realize that I didn’t make any remark at all about Tiller’s faith. I don’t know his faith. The only remark I made was about his actions, which are undisputed.

    Stephy, I have no idea what you’re talking about.

    Tim

  12. My, my, my Tim,

    You seem to have hit a nerve on this one.
    Not one well-thought response to it. (Including mine) 🙂

  13. Well, by now the good Dr. Tiller has been introduced to God. It’s certainly possible that the God of Abraham might have had a few things to say to Dr. Tiller, all the while not being interested much in his response – after all, God deals in truth and not rationalizations (or so I’ve been told).

    My question is this: Did the good Dr. Tiller receive justice for all the human beings that he was complicit in killing?

    My personal opinion is that God is control and I find it both wonderful and strange how he will use a heathen (Nebuchadrezzar) to fulfill His will. “He hath shewed thee, O man, what is good; and what doth the LORD require of thee…”

  14. The comments made here on the most part are truly puzzling.
    Don’t we all as Lutherans believe that abortion is murder? That my Synod speaks clearly on the matter of abortion, and condemns it no matter when it is done, and that another Synod may not see it in the same light, means that we as individual Christians are ultimately responsible for our Scripture-based beliefs and adherance to the commandments from God, ‘Thou shalt not kill.’ I too find it difficult to believe that Dr. Tiller thought what he justified in his own mind and actions, was not murder. The evidence in the past decade that a fetus is a human being is so great that even lay people are coming to understand that killing a fetus in the womb is murder; surely a trained doctor will agree and even more so when it is in the last tri-mester. None of us can know the man’s heart I agree. On the other hand, we do know that Scripture speaks clearly that we shall know them by their fruit(s), deeds. To continually kill and murder without remorse , to continue boldly sinning, is to snub God in the face and say, ‘My ways are higher than yours, and I can do what seems right to me’. God is merciful and forgives sins in Christ…yet if a person is not repentent over sin(s), committed time after time after time , boldly denying the written Word, it is in ‘human terms’ natural to believe Dr. Tiller was not a repentent therefore, not forgiven.
    It is also unbelievable that his church would not counsel with him about his murderous deeds and yes, that they would continue to allow him to partake of the precious Body & Blood of our Savior.
    The man who killed Dr. Tiller is indeed a murderer and will be tried and punished. As Christians we pray that he will repent of his sin(s), and find forgiveness for this horrible act while paying the price whatever the courts/jury deems is the price.
    Christians deplore this murder of Dr. Tiller. God is judge , (not we),He is righteous, and will not allow sin to go unpunished. Yes, Christ bore the sins in our place and those who follow Him in faith with repentance in their lives and a turning away from their continued, brazen sins , will be saved. To say otherwise is to proclaim a sort of ‘general salvation’ for all.
    I too am puzzled, by Rev. Lehmann’s comments. Perhaps I misunderstand them.
    None of us can know where Dr. Tiller will spend eternity yet
    in (our/my) humaness, I do not believe his ‘fruit’ /works show that He will reside in eternity with our Lord.

  15. Tragically, what this murder accomplished in the face of the general public is make a Martyr of the abortion doctor and Demonize everyone who speaks out against the practice of abortion.

    This murderer took the law into his own hands to bring attention to the problem, but instead brought sympathy for those causing the problem.

Leave a Reply

