Who Said It?

Posted: 4 May 2008 in Authors, Christianity, Liturgy, Lord's Supper, Theology
Tags: , ,

I received an e-mail from the American Chesterton Society saying that Chesterton did not actually say this.

Here’s another one: can anyone tell me which Church Father said something to the effect of, “We go to the Sacrament as if to our death, so that we go to our death as if to the Sacrament”?  I know I’ve read it, but I can’t find the source right now.  Anyone want to do my work for me?

Timotheos

Comments
  1. Robert Wentzel says:

    I’ve heard it ascribed (by one of his students) to the sainted Dr. Kenneth Korby. Whether he was quoting a church father, I do not know.

  2. Timotheos says:

    Are you related to Wentzels in Northern Minnesota?

    Tim

  3. Robert Wentzel says:

    Indeed. I am the patriarch of the clan centered in Polk County—although I’m in Nebraska.

  4. Timotheos says:

    Ah yes! I feel a little silly. We talked on the phone recently about a mutual friend and you filling in up here. I am slightly incognito on this blog!

    Tim

  5. Robert Wentzel says:

    I kind of guessed who you were from past entries. Your secret identity will remain secure. I look forward to conversation in person later this summer.

Leave a Reply

