Two NR Items

I was excited to receive the first issue of my new subscription to National Review today.  (I might have gone with The Weekly Standard but it was not offered in the catalog that one of my Confirmation kids was selling.)  Two items from the always entertaining “The Week”:

Hillary Clinton says that her competitors are picking on her because she’s a woman.  Hey, Hillary: If you can’t stand the heat, stay in the kitchen.

And:

NFL scouts are after him, but Adam Ballard, a senior fullback at the Naval Academy, isn’t biting.  “Being a Marine fits my mentality,” he said, explaining why he’s seeking a commission that would deny him a shot at a professional career.  “I don’t see myself as one who sits back.  I like to be down in the dirt with a gun in my hand.”  For Ballard, it’s more than a simple call to action: “When I’m older, I want to be able to look at my kids and tell them why they can go to any church and why your mom doesn’t have to wear a burqa.”  Oo-rah!

Timotheos

One thought on “Two NR Items

Leave a comment