It’s Just Not Good Enough!

For some reason the ACLU thinks it is better for everyone involved if we all see more pictures of Abu Ghraib torture.

I have all sorts of questions. Why is this needed? So Justice can be served against the soldiers who did this? Oh wait, that already happened–justice I’m sure would have been served in Iraq, had any Iraqis (stay with me, this is just a hypothetical) tortured prisoners. Maybe they did it so that every left-wing group from here to San Francisco will have another reason to hate the U.S.? No, I’m pretty sure they’ve already made up their minds on that one. Oh, maybe it’s so the Iraqis who underwent these terrible things can see their naked bodies all over American television and newspapers? Hmm, sounds right, but I don’t think the ACLU will admit to it.. Perhaps it is intended to stir up anti-American sentiment in the country where we are currently at war? Because, if we lose this, things will be so much better for the Iraqis under another dictatorship! None of those reflect very well on the ACLU… Perhaps eventually they’ll tell us which one of the above is the real motive, because I can’t think of any others.

Timotheos

7 thoughts on “It’s Just Not Good Enough!

  1. Honestly. As a card-carrying member of the ACLU (card’s in my purse – LAMINATED), I have to say these “liberals hate the US” diatribes have become tiresome. I love my country – just not with a blind love that will tolerate the commission of war crimes or any attempt to dilute public knowledge and outrage over them. The attention given to these photos will not prompt Americans to hate their own country or make Iraqis hate our country (they already hate our country – they watch Al Jazeera, not Fox News); what the Abu Ghraib photographs will do is galvanize even the dwindling few supporters of this war into realizing that not only has the occupation been a failure, but it may well turn out to be the calamity for U.S. interests and America’s reputation in the world that the war’s most adamant opponents (i.e. me) always said it would be.

    Furthermore, I dearly love my brother – a proud and honorable US serviceman. What happened in Abu Gharib tarnishes the reputation of the brave and important work he and most servicepeople provide our country. Rather than showing the rest of the world that we will sweep these occurrences under the rug to further our own interests, we need to hammer home the point that this will not be tolerated.

  2. Abu-Graib was an embarassment to the US, plain and simple. Further, the administration hasn’t renounced torture or promised not to use it against people we imprison –Dick Cheney in fact wouldn’t commit to this either.

    So the torture issue, manifested in the Abu Graib scandal is not old news because it simply isn’t a closed issue yet.

    And not everything is a conspiracy to undermine our troops, by the way. I’m frustrated that so many in my own denomination (the LCMS) pretty much publicly accuse liberals of this sort of treasonous/unpatriotic behavior.

    For Pete’s sake, I’m a Democrat, but I’m almost afraid to say it among members of my own denomination.

    Sheesh.

  3. David,
    Democrats have become a caricature when there’s only the smallest bit of room for a group like Democrats for Life. I’m not saying Republicans are all that much better; I’m not registered as either.

    I didn’t say Abu Ghraib was a closed issue, but the perpetrators were brought to pretty swift justice.

    Mary said, “Furthermore, I dearly love my brother – a proud and honorable US serviceman. What happened in Abu Gharib tarnishes the reputation of the brave and important work he and most servicepeople provide our country. Rather than showing the rest of the world that we will sweep these occurrences under the rug to further our own interests, we need to hammer home the point that this will not be tolerated.”

    I think we’ve shown that it won’t be tolerated. What do you think those court-marshals were for? I agree with you about Abu Ghraib tarnishing the reputation of people like your brother. I don’t see what that has to do with releasing more pictures. I would think releasing them would have the effect you say you don’t want. No one’s swept anything under the rug. Or are jail time and dishonorable discharges not enough?

    Also, “I have to say these “liberals hate the US” diatribes have become tiresome.” I didn’t say anything about “liberals hating the US.” I said the ACLU may be trying to stir the left-wing up. But if you feel that close a connection between your ACLU membership and liberalism, then that might support my point.

    Mary also gives us a reason why the ACLU might want this: “what the Abu Ghraib photographs will do is galvanize even the dwindling few supporters of this war into realizing that not only has the occupation been a failure, but it may well turn out to be the calamity for U.S. interests and America’s reputation in the world that the war’s most adamant opponents (i.e. me) always said it would be.” So releasing humiliating photographs of Iraqis being tortured by soldiers who are already in jail supports your cause? It’s all about an agenda, isn’t it? No thought to what might be good or right; just the ends justifying the means.

    See, I have no problem with furthering U.S. interests, and I think it’s generally a bad thing to destroy the reputation of the U.S. Think about it this way: if the U.S. and her allies are successful in Iraq and Afghanistan, that can only be good news, not just for America’s reputation, but for the whole Middle East. Eh, whatever, screw the Iraqis and pull out now!

    Tim

  4. I agree in principle with much of your sentiment, Mary.

    But once we beat this to death, we do not need to continue beating it and beating it. This isn’t justice anymore, its vengeance.

    Regarding your ACLU membership:

    Are you for democratic civil liberties in general, or are you truly supportive of the ACLU’s (well documented and clearly written) communist agenda?

    >>>

    Warning: I’m going to come off a bit mean here:

    As an ex-military person, I’m a bit offended by Mary’s position. This is not intended as a personal attack on Mary. It simply serves as a good illustration of my position.

    I can confidently state that our constant public chastisements and berating-to-death of these issues simply encourage the enemy to fight harder. It makes us look weak and vulnerable, and foolishly fearful in the eyes of terrorist who are trying to incite fear in us.

    Simply put, the fact that we do not torture or kill ALL of our prisoners makes us look weak and foolish in the eyes of our Islamofacist nemesis. (Because that is what they do to our soldiers when they capture them).

    Ironically, this constant public chastisement of the military that Mary espouses only increases her own brother’s risk, by publicly mocking his military service and making him look weak in the eyes of Islamofascists.

    Yes, I have/had acquaintances in the Iraq, Afghanistan, and Korean military theatres. And while I am fully with Mary on punishing military people those who commit crimes, I am against punishing them, and punishing them, and punishing them yet again.

  5. Just to put this idea of the neverending media story in perspective:

    Consider that they still spend time each night talking about the disappearance of Natalie Holloway.

    There is a story about an attack cat in the some headlines for two days now.

    By this standard, one can’t expect the Abu Graib story to peter out. In fact, in comparison, I think it’s more newsworthy than the other two examples.

  6. David, I agree. I could happily live the rest of my life without ever seeing Greta van Susteren say “Natalie’s killers” again.

    Tim

Leave a Reply

