Good Books

With a couple more weeks before school starts, I’ve been reading more. I finished Zion on the Mississippi, which seems to be a pretty solid history of the Saxons, many of whom helped form the LCMS.

Second, I just finished South Park Conservatives. It’s both hilarious and eye-opening. Read it. I like the description of “South Park Conservatives as those who don’t necessarily fit the stereotype of conservatives (especially younger people), but really don’t like where the Left wing wants to take this country. One of the best quotes is from Matt Stone or Trey Parker (I can’t remember which), the creators of South Park: “I f—ing hate conservatives, but I really f—ing hate liberals.”

Third, the book I’m currently reading is The Death of Right and Wrong by Tammy Bruce. Her arguments are an excellent example of Natural Law, since she is described on the book flap as “America’s favorite openly gay, pro-choice, pro-death penalty, gun-owning, voted-for-Reagan feminist.” She takes on those with whom she worked for so long as a former president of the L.A. chapter of NOW and as a homosexual activist. Obviously, she is not a Christian, but she does not think morality is a bad word. You might quibble, as I do, with her wanting to have both morality and be in a homosexual relationship; however, I’m wondering how long she can argue in this direction and not run up against her own duplicity in the area of sexuality. But as I said, it’s a powerful argument in favor of the first, civil function of the Law, even among non-Christians.

I’d pick up South Park Conservatives first if you want a lighter read, and The Death of Right and Wrong if you want something a little more weighty; and Zion on the Mississippi if you want to know the background of the LCMS.

Timotheos

4 thoughts on “Good Books

  1. I read The Death of Right and Wrong maybe a year ago and I was left with the feeling that Tammy Bruce could not continue in her pro-choice views and homosexuality. It just seems so incongruous with what she wrote in that book. I’m expecting that in a few years she’ll release a book describing how her views have changed and she is no longer gay or pro-choice.

  2. I don’t think anyone who reads her book would be surprised if that happened. On the other hand, humans often live with even more incongruity between what they personally believe and how they act; or, what they believe never trickles down into how they act.

    Tim

  3. So what did you think of Zion on the Mississippi? (Other than that it seemed overall solid?) I picked it up expecting it to be hagiography. But I was surprised to find out how bad some of the key characters looked in it. Especially C.F.W. Walther, with his fawning attitude towards Stephan.

  4. I thought it was generally fair. It doesn’t bash Walther and the other pastors, but neither does it allow that they were above reproach in the whole situation. It seems that there was enough blame to go around.

    Tim

Leave a Reply

