More Theses, I Say, More Theses

Now that we finished reading Luther’s Heidelberg Disputation, we will examine 25 theses presented by C.F.W. Walther, a prominent theologian of the 19th century. These theses derive from Walther’s Friday evening ‘Luther Hour’ lectures, delivered at Concordia Seminary, St. Louis, MO, from Sept. 12, 1864, to Nov. 6, 1885. (Hey, I am going back there soon!!) They represent perhaps Walther’s greatest and most well-known contribution to the church. Here is number one.

“The doctrinal contents of the entire Holy Scriptures, both of the Old and the New Testament, are made up of two doctrines differing fundamentally from each other, viz., the Law and the Gospel” (C.F.W Walther, The Proper Distinction Between Law and Gospel reproduced from the German edition of 1897 by W.H.T. Dau (St. Louis: Concordia, 1986), 1).

3 thoughts on “More Theses, I Say, More Theses

  1. Haven’t read it yet, but just got my copy of Pless’s “Handling the Word of Truth” from CPH. My fingers tingle with excitement.

  2. After struggling through all kinds of writings to try and understand how the Roman Church could possibly teach what they teach, I came across Walther’s Law and Gospel. It hit me like a thunderbolt, as Luther would say. Of course, we are taught the difference in catechism classes, but that was a long time ago for me!Anyway it has been a lot easier for me to understand Catholic doctrine after reading Walther.

    Check this out: During one of the many interviews with priests after the Pope’s death, a priest made this statement: “The Gospel is a hard word.”

    Oh! It makes me want to cry! What great success the enemy has enjoyed.

  3. I too have struggled with the so called teaches of the Catholic church, but I also struggle with the teachings of the Lutheran church because I know from what I have seen and from what I have heard that they are not correct yet it is treated as if it is the gospel truth.

Leave a Reply

