Experience Counts for Something

Has anybody used materials from Peacemaker Ministries? How do you rate their materials?

One thought on “Experience Counts for Something

  1. This is being used currently at my vicarage congregation. A man I respect very much is wild about it, although, his theological know-how is still in start-up mode. (His shelf is FULL of Hybels.)

    From what I’ve seen, there is a ton of Scripture study and quotations. The Law is heavily used as the motivational factor (which I think is appropriate if that is the perlocution of the Scriptures being quoted.) And, from what I can see, it looks sound.

    But…

    At the same time, it seems to verge on making the Gospel into the Law. Now…it could just be the way that it is being presented at my vicarage congregation, where the Gospel is often made into a guilt-trip to get you to be a steward, etc. So that may not be inherent in the materials. Even so…it makes me wary.

    I mean…I can’t excactly argue with Christ’s words: “where there is forgiveness there is light and life.” And I can hardly dispute that it is the freedom of Christians to pursue an assembly where Matthew 18 is the rule and norm for controversy, and where horizontal grace exists in abundance. I wouldn’t WANT to argue with these things. I just wonder if Peacemaker ministries isn’t trying to MAKE these things happen apart from the means which God has given us to MAKE these things happen (Word Proclaimed/Sacrament).

    Don’t get me wrong. I’m all for Bible study, and the Word is alive and active. But when I come out of the study/sermon feeling like I haven’t fogiven “enough” or “truly” repented, I have to wonder if something isn’t fishy.

    Blah blah blah. I’ll stop now. 🙂

Leave a Reply

