Good Music 11

While I was listening to music in my car, I realized that the one cd that has been in my changer the longest, and about which my wife says, “We always listen to this,” I forgot to include in GM10. What was I thinking? The best cd of the last six months is the one you haven’t heard: mewithoutYou’s Catch For Us The Foxes.
This infectious combination of amazingly melodic singing/screaming/speaking will not get out of your head. And the lyrics are understandable and good, too! (Well, at least to me.)
They’re good live too. This one the singer introduced as “an invitation to prayer” (“Four-Word Letter, Pt. 2”):

Oh, doubters, let’s go down/Won’t you come on down to the river to pray?/”But I’m so small i can barely be seen./How can this great love be inside of me?”/Look at your eyes,/They’re small in size, but they see enormous things.

Wearing black canvas slippers in that frog-on-a-lily-pad pose./We sewed buttons and zippers to pink chinese silk and olive night clothes./If you can someday stop by somehow we’ll show you the pictures & fix you some tea.

(See, my dad’s getting a bit older now,/and just unimaginably lonely)

Oh, pretenders, let’s go down./Won’t you come on down to the river and pray?/”But I’m so afraid,” or “I’m set in my ways”/But he’ll make the rabbits and rocks sing his praise/”But I’m so tired, I won’t last long.”/No, he uses weak things to overcome the strong!/Oh Amanda, let’s go down/mama, nana, won’t you come on down to the river and pray?/A wick to fit the wax,/Wood to fit the wire/You strike the match

Why not be utterly changed to fire?/To sacrifice the shadow and the mist of a brief life you never much liked/If you’d care to come along we’re gonna curb all our never-ending,/Clever complaining (as who’s ever heard of a singer criticized by his song?)/We hunger, but through all that we eat brings us a little relief/We don’t know quite what else to do,/We have all our beliefs,/But we don’t want our beliefs,/God of peace,/We want you.

Or this (“Carousels”):

If I didn’t have You as my guide,/I’d still wander lost in Sinai/Counting the plates of cars from out-of-state,/(How I could jump in their path as they hurry along!)/Until You surround me,/You’re pretty but you’re all I can see/Like a thick fog -/If there was no way into God/I would never have laid in this grave of a body for so long.

St. Cyril’s fair always came through the first week of September
But it’s already the 19th and there’s no sign of it yet./I have a hard time remembering the things i should remember/and a hard time forgetting the things I should forget./Oh Christ when You’re ready to come back,/I think I’m ready for You to come back/But if You want to stay/Wherever exactly it is you are,/That’s ok too -/It’s really none of my business

If I didn’t have You as my guide/I’d still be wandering lost in Sinai
Or down by the tracks watching trains go by to remind me./There are places that aren’t here./I had a well,/But all the water left/So i’ll ask Your forgiveness/With every breath,/If there was no way into God,
I would never have laid in this body of a grave…so long, dear.

Watch a video for “January, 1979” here, and listen to MP3s, too.

Timotheos

Leave a Reply

